How Do I?
Click to Home

Go To Search

County

12 Stories
Posted on: July 22, 2016

Public welcome to experience renovated Lake Elmo Swim Pond upgrades, ribbon-cutting Aug. 1

The public is welcome to experience the upgrades that the Lake Elmo Park Reserve swim pond, underwent this summer, when it reopens Aug. 1.
A ribbon-cutting for the pond is planned for 2:30 p.m. Monday, Aug. 1, at the pond.There are several upgrades to ...Read on...

Posted on: July 25, 2016

Washington County Public Works moves back to North Shop

Anyone doing business with Washington County Public Works, including the county’s parks, transportation, and survey and land management staff, may return to seeing county staff in the county’s North Shop at 11660 Myeron Road N. in Stillwater Township.
Th...Read on...

Posted on: July 25, 2016

Washington County WIC Program celebrates world breastfeeding week

The Washington County Women, Infants and Children (WIC) program will celebrate World Breastfeeding Week Aug. 1-7.
The 2016 World Breastfeeding Week theme, “Breastfeeding: A Key to Sustainable Development,” focuses on the importance of breastfeeding as a ...Read on...

Posted on: July 25, 2016

Washington County Sheriff's Office will have drug 'take-back' July 30

The Washington County Sheriff's Office, in partnership with the county Department of Public Health and Environment, will be participating in a voluntary prescription drug "Take-Back" campaign 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the Newport Plaza, 1644 Hastings Ave,, New...Read on...

Posted on: July 11, 2016

Work on 70th Street, Jamaica Avenue roundabout project will close roadway July 18 to July 29

A full roadway closure is planned for the 70th Street and Jamaica Avenue roundabout project from 7 a.m. July 18 to 3 p.m. July 29, weather dependent.The detour for the 70th Street will be Hinton Avenue to Military Road to Keats Avenue to 80th Street.
Thi...Read on...

Posted on: July 15, 2016

County works to protect only source of drinking water – groundwater

Groundwater is the only source of water for drinking, cooking, doing laundry, and every other household task in Washington County. As such, the county works with state and local partners to assure a safe and stable source of groundwater.
The County Board...Read on...

Posted on: July 13, 2016

Washington County provides assistance to those with mental illness

Providing people with mental illness with a path to staying safely in their homes is one of the goals of the Washington County staffers who work in the county’s mental health services.
The group provided an update on their program to the County Board Jun...Read on...

Posted on: January 20, 2016

Guided fitness hikes underway in county parks, including July 28, Free Tuesday hike Aug. 2

Hike on! A rotating schedule of guided fitness hikes throughout the Washington County Parks trail system continues 9-10 a.m. Thursday, July 28, at Lake Elmo Park Reserve. Also see the schedule for Free Tuesday hikes. There will also be a Free Tuesday hike...Read on...

Posted on: January 12, 2016

Guided morning bird hikes in Washington County parks Aug. 13 at Cottage Grove Ravine Regional Park

A rotating schedule of bird hikes throughout the Washington County Parks system continues with a hike Aug. 13 at Cottage Grove Ravine Regional Park.
Learn to identify the birds that call the St. Croix Valley home and contribute to citizen science data co...Read on...

Posted on: June 20, 2016

Absentee voting for primary election begins June 24

Absentee voting for the statewide primary election begins on June 24 and continues through Aug. 8. Absentee voters are encouraged to vote at the beginning of the period.
Voters may vote in person at any of the following Washington County Service Cente...Read on...

Posted on: June 10, 2016

Washington County Library seeks Maker Fest participants, due Aug. 8

Washington County Library is seeking makers to participate in its Maker Fest 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 22, at R.H. Stafford Library, 8595 Central Park Place, Woodbury. Applications are due Aug. 8.
Maker Fest is a community event where people embra...Read on...

Posted on: March 31, 2016

Vendors sought for Washington County Parks Bluegrass Festival

Washington County Parks is accepting applications from vendors for the 15th Annual Washington County Bluegrass Festival, which will be 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 10, at the South Picnic Pavilion in Lake Elmo Park Reserve.
This is a free, outdoor mu...Read on...


County Attorney Press Releases

1 Story
Posted on: July 15, 2016

WOODBURY WOMAN CHARGED WITH HUMAN LABOR TRAFFICKING

County Attorney Pete Orput today announced that Lili Huang, 35, of Woodbury, was charged with 5 felony counts related to human labor trafficking. Huang was charged with Labor Trafficking, felony Seizing Passport with Intent to Violate Labor Trafficking, ...Read on...


Library

16 Stories
Posted on: June 16, 2016

Brodini Comedy Magic Show at R.H. Stafford Library July 25

Join us from 10:30 to 11:15 a.m. on Monday, July 25, at R.H. Stafford Library for an award-winning comedy magic show. It's all about fun, energy, and audience participation. All ages.

Additional Info...
Posted on: June 16, 2016

Enjoy Blues for Kids event at Wildwood Library July 27

Join us from 2 to 2:45 p.m. on Wednesday, July 27, at Wildwood Library to listen to the blues and learn how to play the blues. Everyone will leave with a free harmonica! Ages 8-12. Registration required.

Additional Info...
Posted on: June 16, 2016

Valley Branch Book Club meets July 28

Join us from 5 to 5:55 p.m. on Thursday, July 28, to discuss the book "All the Light We Cannot See" by Anthony Doerr. Visit Valley Library to pick up a copy of the book. Just read the book, come and discuss. Open to all.Read on...

Additional Info...
Posted on: June 16, 2016

Hardwood Creek Library hosts three-day songwriting workshop July 29-31

Join us from 2 to 3:30 p.m. on Friday, Saturday & Sunday, July 29, 30 & 31, to create and perform songs with songwriter/singer James Hersch during this three day workshop. You'll end up with a CD of your songs at a release party in August. Free, registrat...Read on...

Additional Info...
Posted on: June 16, 2016

Oakdale Library celebrates Harry Potter’s birthday July 30

Join us from 6 to 7 p.m. on Saturday, July 30, at Oakdale Library to celebrate the birthday of the Chosen One himself, Harry Potter! For all ages. Calling all wizards, witches, and muggles! You are invited to the Oakdale School of Witchcraft and Wizardry ...Read on...

Additional Info...
Posted on: July 15, 2016

Join us for storytime with the Minnesota DNR at Oakdale Library Aug. 1

Join us from 10:30 to 11:30 a.m. on Monday, August 1 at Oakdale Library for an interactive storytime about snakes! Join a naturalist from the Minnesota DNR to learn all about these cool creatures, make a craft to take home, and meet Walter the hog-nosed s...Read on...

Additional Info...
Posted on: July 15, 2016

Wildwood Library Writers Group meets Aug. 1

Join us from 2 to 3:30 p.m. on Monday, August 1 at Wildwood Library for the Wildwood Writers Group. Within each person is a history book - a unique collection of experiences and stories. The Wildwood Writers Group has formed to support aspiring memoir wr...Read on...

Additional Info...
Posted on: July 15, 2016

Hardwood Creek Library hosts StoryStroll at Big Marine Park Reserve Aug. 2

Join us at 9 a.m. on Tuesday, August 2 at Big Marine Park Reserve for a guided StoryStroll with a librarian. Read a story, while taking a stroll with your kids. Guided stroll with a librarian at 9 a.m., or visit anytime before park close for a self-guided...Read on...

Additional Info...
Posted on: July 15, 2016

Minnesota Twins mascot visits R.H. Stafford Library Aug. 3

Join us from 1:30 to 2 p.m. on Wednesday, August 3 at R. H. Stafford Library for a special storytime event with the Minnesota Twins' mascot, T.C. Bear! With help from a couple of volunteers from the audience, T.C. will act out the story of how, as a young...Read on...

Additional Info...
Posted on: July 15, 2016

Enjoy Little Lotus Yoga at Park Grove Library Aug. 4

Join us from 6:30 to 7:15 p.m. on Thursday, August 4 at Park Grove Library for playful yoga poses combined with picture books, crafts, and other age appropriate props that will spark your child’s inner yogini. Yoga comes to life in these fun and creative ...Read on...

Additional Info...
Posted on: July 15, 2016

Oakdale Library hosts Dean Brewington concert Aug. 11

Join us from 6:30 to 7:30 p.m. on Thursday, August 11 at Oakdale Library for a jazz concert with Twin Cities artist Dean Brewington. Dean is known to local jazz fans for his mainstream jazz in the tradition of Charlie Parker, Miles Davis, Duke Ellington ...Read on...

Additional Info...
Posted on: July 15, 2016

Man Up and Read Book Club meets Aug. 15 at Hardwood Creek Library

Join us from 6:30 to 8 p.m. on Monday, August 15 at Hardwood Creek Library for the Man Up and Read Book Club, which meets the third Wednesday of each month. No advance signup necessary. Just read the book, come and discuss! The title selected for discussi...Read on...

Additional Info...
Posted on: July 15, 2016

Join Park Grove Library for Let’s Make Stuff Aug. 18

Join us from 6:30 to 7:30 p.m. on Thursday, August 18 at Park Grove Library to dye a kitchen towel that you'll get to take home with you. We'll be mixing up a vat of indigo dye in this month's class. Let's Make Stuff is a creative class for adults. Join u...Read on...

Additional Info...
Posted on: July 15, 2016

Join us for a STEAM storytime at Valley Library Aug. 22

Join us from 10:30 to 11:30 a.m. on Monday, August 22 at Valley Library for a special STEAM storytime. In addition to stories, songs and rhymes, there will be special activities incorporating science, technology, engineering, art and math. Each month will...Read on...

Additional Info...
Posted on: July 15, 2016

R.H. Stafford Library hosts kindergarten storytime Aug. 24

Join us from 10:30 to 11 a.m. on Wednesday, August 24 at R.H. Stafford Library for a storytime about kindergarten specially for children entering kindergarten and their parents.

Additional Info...
Posted on: July 15, 2016

Valley Library Book Club meets Aug. 25

Join us from 5 to 5:55 p.m. on Thursday, August 25 at Valley Library for Valley Library's Book Club. The group that gathers will discuss the book "The Martian" by Andy Weir. Visit Valley Library to pick up a copy of the book. Just read the book, come and ...Read on...

Additional Info...

Transportation

3 Stories
Posted on: May 19, 2016

Manning Avenue (County Highway 15) and 10th Street (County Highway 10) Intersection Work

Construction has begun on the intersection of County Highway 15 and 10. The first phase of the project closes the west leg of 10th St (Detour is signed). Northbound & Southbound Manning Ave remains open. For additional info, visit the project website.

Project Website
Posted on: May 19, 2016

Beach Road/Paris Avenue South (County Highway 23)

Beach Road/Paris Avenue (County Highway 23) closes to through traffic and the detour begins on or after May 31, 2016. For additional project information, visit the project website.

Project Website
Posted on: May 19, 2016

Lake Elmo Avenue (County Highway 17) Construction Update

Construction is now beginning in Lake Elmo on County Highway 17 (Lake Elmo Avenue) and 30th Street. Throughout the construction season, there will be construction activities and road detours. For additional information, visit the project website.

Project Website