• You must occupy the property as your primary residence
• You must be an owner or a qualifying relative of the owner of the property
• You must be a Minnesota resident
Show All Answers
• Apply as soon as you have moved into the property
• Application deadline is December 31 of the current year for taxes payable the following year
• You may be asked to verify the address on your Minnesota driver’s license, where you are registered to vote, your primary mailing address, or other proof of occupancy
• Each occupant and spouse must provide their Social Security number to receive a full homestead
• Social Security numbers are private data and are used by the MN Department of Revenue to verify you are not receiving homestead anywhere else in Minnesota. You may refuse to provide this information, but refusal will disqualify you from receiving homestead classification
• Qualifying relatives for residential and occupied agricultural homestead include parents, grandparents, siblings, children, grandchildren, aunts, uncles, nieces, and nephews of the owner or of the spouse of the owner
• Relative homesteads do not qualify for the property tax refund
• Property held under a trust may also qualify for homestead if occupied by a grantor or qualifying relative other the grantor of the trust
• A new application must be submitted within 30 days of this change
• Move or sell
• Change your marital status – Notify the county within 30 days if your marital status changes. If you fail to notify the assessor within 30 days, the property may be subject to a penalty.
You may qualify for a property tax refund if your property is classified as homestead. A property tax refund is based on your household income and the property taxes paid. It is administered by the Department of Revenue’s Income Tax division. For more information visit the Department of Revenue’s website.