Division Overview

About the Law Enforcement Center

The current Law Enforcement Center was built next door to the County Government Center and courthouse in Stillwater and opened in June 1993 as the primary base of operations for the Sheriff's Office and to house the Sheriff's offices, records, dispatch center, and county jail.

The Law Enforcement Center was included in a remodeling project started in 2007, which included adding three additional floors to the building. One of the floors holds the Sheriff's Office state-of-the-art 9-1-1 Public Safety Answering Point Center, which opened in 2009.

The Sheriff's Office also operates several remote "substations" around the county for use by patrol deputies and investigators to complete reports in the community without having to drive back to the Law Enforcement Center in Stillwater. Substation offices are not generally staffed on a regular basis and are not publicly accessible.


The Sheriff's Office is divided into five divisions and operates within a distinct chain-of-command. The Administrative Division is overseen by Sheriff Bill Hutton and Chief Deputy Dan Starry. The remaining divisions are each overseen by a Commander who reports directly to the Sheriff and Chief Deputy.

The Division Commanders are:
  • Records / Communications - Commander Doug Anschutz
  • Patrol Division - Commander Brian Mueller
  • Investigative Division - Commander Cheri Dexter
  • Jail Division - Commander Roger Heinen
  • Courts / Special Projects - Commander Jerry Cusick
A breakdown of division functions is available on the Sheriff's Office Divisions page.