- Bail and Warrant Information
- Visiting with Children
- Inmate Mail
- Inmate Phone System
- Medication & Medical Care
- Canteen & Money
- Reporting Sexual Misconduct
- Release of Inmates
- Booking Fee Reimbursement
Paying bail for someone in the Washington County Jail
If you want to post bail or bond for someone currently in Washington County Jail, this can be done at certain times in-person at Court Administration or with jail office support. Bail may be posted at the kiosk in the jail lobby 24 hours a day. Bail money is generally returned to the defendant once they have satisfied the courts requirements, but may be forfeited if the defendant does not appear on the assigned court date or may be credited towards fines and fees due to the court. The individual must be in custody in order to post bail at the jail.
- Bail for Washington County cases must be posted at Court Administration in the Courthouse Building Monday through Friday 8am to 4:15pm.
- Bail for Washington County cases may be posted in the Jail Administration Office Support window Monday through Friday, 6am to 8am and 4:15am to 5pm.
- Bail for out-of-county warrants may be paid at the jail with office support Monday through Friday, 6am to 5pm.
- In-person bail is accepted in cash (exact amount) or credit card.
- The credit card must be in the name of the person posting the bail with a valid ID.
- Bonds are accepted from approved bonding agents
Instructions for Kiosk Bail
Bail may be posted at the kiosk in the jail lobby at anytime, 24 hours a day. There are limited amounts that may be posted.
- Cash Limit: $1000.00 (Will only accept bills of $20 or higher)
- Credit Card Limit: $1000.00 (There is an $8.95 fee for credit card transactions)
- When using your credit card to post bail, there is a 30-second delay after you press the "Bail Credit Card Payment" button.
Please check with Master Control to determine the bail amount for the individual you wish to post bail on.
You may post bail for Washington County cases and warrants for other counties in Minnesota. We will not accept bail for out-of-state warrants.
Once you have posted bail at the kiosk, please inform Master Control you have done so. Master Control will notify the shift sergeant who will verify everything is accurate and begin the release process. The release process could take up to a couple hours.
Due to varying hours, please call the jail ahead of time if you plan on posting bail on weekdays or weekdays after 4 pm at 651-430-7900.
Are you on the inmate’s visiting list?
You must be on an inmate’s visiting list to visit. Jail staff cannot disclose whether you are or are not on an inmate’s visiting list due to data privacy laws. Therefore, it is possible you could have an appointment, but still be turned away due to not being on an inmate’s visiting list.
- Friday through Monday: 6pm to 10pm
- Saturday and Sunday: 8:30am to 10:30am
What we are asking visitors to do
- Minor biological, adopted, step, foster or guardian children of the inmate are welcome to visit as long as they are on the inmate's visiting list. Please make sure they remain in the visiting booth with you during your entire visit. There are special visiting times for visiting with children that can be found on the following tab.
- Sanitizing wipes will be provided. We ask that you sanitize your booth prior to your departure. You are welcome to sanitize it upon your arrival as well.
Know before you go
If you want to be sure visitation has not been canceled for the day, please call 651-430-7900
We recommend familiarizing yourself with visiting rules and what you can or cannot bring to the jail with you prior to your first visit.
Special visiting hours for families with children
Special visiting times in which families with children receive priority are:
- Saturday and Sunday, 8:30am to 10:30am and 6pm to 10pm
Please call 651-430-7900 to make sure visitation has not been canceled for the day.
Other helpful information
- Minor biological, adopted, step, foster or guardian children of the inmate may visit when accompanied by an adult on the inmate’s visiting list
- Minor children must also be on the inmate’s visiting list before being allowed in
- Minors cannot be left unattended in the jail lobby or in your vehicle
- Lockers free of charge are available in the jail lobby for outer clothing, phones, purses, money, etc.
- Baby strollers, cribs, and carriers are not allowed in the jail
- Visitors must control their children’s behavior in the visitor booth area or be asked to leave
- For safety and security reasons, a visit may be terminated if a visitor needs to use the restroom during the visit. For that reason, we recommend having children use the restroom before the visit begins
- All jail rules must be followed. Visitors not following the jail rules will be asked to leave and be banned from visiting for a minimum of 30 days.
This Sesame Street in Communities video entitled "Little Children Big Challenges: Incarceration" provides helpful ways to talk to children about a parent or caregiver who may be incarcerated.
Inmate E-mail and Photos
Family and friends are now able to send e-mails and pictures to inmates by setting up an account with www.InmateCanteen.com . There is a fee for this service. Once the account is set up, inmates can also send e-mails back to the account holder. E-mails and photos are reviewed by Jail Administration before they can be seen by the inmate. You will be notified if your e-mail or photo is rejected.
Mail to Inmates
- Mail is delivery on Monday - Friday with the exception of holidays.
- All mail is opened and inspected by jail staff prior to delivery.
- Legal mail to inmates will only be opened in the presence of the addressee.
If you wish to send a letter to an inmate in the Washington County Jail, the mailing envelope must be addressed as follows:
Inmate’s Full Name
Washington County Jail
15015 62nd St. N.
P.O. Box 3801
Stillwater, MN 55082
Mail to Inmates No Longer in Custody
Mail received for inmates who have been transferred to another facility or released will be returned to sender. Please include a return address on all mail.
All mail to inmates must be sent through the United States Postal Service or a valid delivery service, such as UPS, Fed Ex, DHL, etc. The jail staff will not deliver phone or dropped off messages to the inmates. Do not send cash or money orders through the mail. The jail will not accept Polaroid pictures or letters with glue or glitter. Stickers will be removed as will anything suspicious. Pictures that show nudity or have sexual innuendo will not be accepted. These items will be returned to the sender.
Funds Received by Mail
No funds received through the mail will be credited to an inmate’s account. If you wish to put money into an inmate’s account, you must use one of the following methods:
- Deposit cash or use a credit card in the Jail Lobby Kiosk
- Make an internet deposit using the website
Deposits for individual inmates are limited to $300 every 14 days. A fee may be charged for each deposit.
Inmate Debit Calling Account
With an inmate debit account, inmates may make local, long distance, or international calls to landlines and cell phones.
Open an Inmate Debit Account
When you were booked in, an inmate debit account was automatically opened for you with a $0 balance. To make calls, funds simply need to be added to the account.
Adding funds to an inmate debit account
Based on facility requirements, your facility may only allow one or both of these funding methods.
Receive Inmate Calls
Collect a Refund
Canteen and phone refunds will be given to you upon release, if you have remaining funds. However, booking fees and indigent supplies will be deducted from your account first. Past debts will also be deducted.
Health care services provided include:
- Medical care
- Dental care
- Psychological care from licensed professionals within our community.
Several registered nurses on site during the week Monday through Friday. There is one registered nurse on site during the weekend. Inmates have access to their prescription medications and may purchase over the counter medications. Doctor, dentist, and nurse visits are given for a nominal fee. Inmates who have medical insurance are billed for services rendered.
Family members and friends can drop off medications in the main lobby of the jail.
The jail only accepts valid, non-expired prescriptions. Authorized items such as contact lenses solutions will only be accepted in new, unopened, non tampered containers.
Due to patient confidentiality and HIPAA regulations, we are unable to answer medical questions and concerns over the phone. The inmate must sign a HIPAA Release of Information Form before any information can be given out in writing.
Turnkey Corrections - Inmate Commissary
There are two options to give an inmate money:
- Jail lobby kiosk to deposit cash or by credit card
- Limited to $150 per credit card transaction and $500 per month
- Cash - unlimited amount
- Fees: Cash - $2.00, Credit card - $8.95 / transaction
- Internet deposits - InmateCanteen.com
- Fee $8.95
Inmate E-mail and Photos
Family and friends are now able to send e-mails and pictures to inmates by setting up an account with InmateCanteen.com. There is a fee of $0.25 per message for this service. Once the account is set up, inmates can also send e-mails back to the account holder. E-mails and photos are reviewed by Jail Administration before they can be seen by the inmate. You will be notified if your e-mail or photo is rejected.
- Single keys and money may be released if requested by the inmate in writing.
- Other items such as clothes, credit cards, jewelry, shoes, coats, etc., must be all released at the same time.
- Inmates must have one full set of clothing at the jail at all time.
- EBT cards will only be released to the party it is registered to on the card itself.
- Inmates must request items be picked up in writing 24 hours in advance.
- The person picking up the items must provide a valid government agency picture ID with date of birth
You may drop off clothing for:
- STS or Work Release inmates
- Inmates that need clothing for jury trial once a trial date has been set
- A one-time exchange of clean clothes may be done at anytime
Medication and medical devices
Medical devices and medications may be dropped off at anytime.
Certain medical items such as contact lenses and solutions may be dropped off as long as they are new and untampered with. The inmate must receive medical authorization from our nurse before these items will be accepted.
Reporting Sexual Harassment or Misconduct (PREA: Prison Rape Elimination Act-2003)
The Washington County Sheriff's Office adult Jail and Juvenile Holding facility has a zero-tolerance policy concerning any sexual misconduct between inmates or between staff and inmates. As a relative or friend of an inmate, you have the right to report sexual misconduct and remain free from any retaliation regardless of your English speaking proficiency, physical or mental disability, or any limitation you have in reading or writing.
Special accommodations will be made to the best of the Sheriff's Office ability following the notification of staff.
Report Sexual Abuse/Sexual Harassment using any of the procedures listed below:
- Call 651-430-7900 and ask to speak to the Asst. Jail Administrator or Jail Sergeant.
- Ask to speak to an Administrator or Jail Sergeant in person.
- Call the 24-hour Non-Emergency Sheriff’s Office line at 651-439-9381 and ask to speak to the Jail Sergeant.
- Write a letter to the Assistant Jail Administrator at the Washington County Jail, 15015 62nd St. North, Stillwater MN 55082
Persons who knowingly file false criminal sexual conduct reports will face criminally prosecution.
Once court has ended, it could take up to four hours before the inmate is released from the facility. The jail has no control over the court calendar or when the information is received from court administration.
If you have a question, you can call our office support area at 651-430-7900. They will not have any court information until after 4:00 p.m.
About booking fees
- The Washington County Jail collects a $25 booking fee from each person held for confinement
This is authorized by the Washington County Board of Commissioners per Minnesota Statute 641.12, sub 1
Booking fees will not be collected on rental inmates, juvenile inmates, writs, or booking motions
A person may request to have their booking fee reimbursed if:
- all charges are dismissed at court
- or they are acquitted on all charges
- no outstanding charges on the inmate’s account from prior booking fees
Proof for Reimbursement
It is up to the individual to provide proof from court administration that the charges were dismissed or you have been acquitted
How to request reimbursement
If you believe you are entitled to a booking fee reimbursement, call the jail at 651-430-7900 and ask to speak to the support services sergeant