- Permit to Carry
- Permit to Purchase
- Training Requirements
- Name/Address Change
- Renewing Permits
- Lost/Damaged Permits
- Gun Safety
Update regarding services during COVID-19
The Sheriff’s Office is extending the closure of the Law Enforcement Center to April 28, 2020. This modification was made to limit the possible exposure of the public and our employees to COVID-19.
This will mean a change in gun permits, civil process, fingerprints, and inmate visiting.
Starting April 13th, Permits to Carry applications will be taken by appointment only. Call 651-430-7600 or email email@example.com
- If you live in Minnesota, you must apply to the sheriff of the county in which you live, out of state applicants may apply at any of the 87 counties in the state.
- Applications for Permits to Carry a firearm will be processed by the Sheriff’s Office.
- Applicants must provide proof of firearms training by a certified instructor that includes fundamentals of pistol use, actual shooting qualification exercise, and instruction in the fundamental legal aspects of pistol possession, carry, and use including self-defense and the restrictions on use of deadly force. (Note: Certificates are valid for 1 year from the date on the certificate).
- Applicants must complete the state application, pay the fee, submit the form in person, and pass the background / criminal history check requirements.
- Applicants must be at least 21 years old and a citizen or permanent resident of the United States.
- The Permit to Carry application fee for new applicants in Washington County is $75. The Sheriff’s Office will accept a personal check, cash or credit card in the exact amount of the fee for the permit.
- The Sheriff’s Office must act on the application within 30 days of receiving the completed application packet.
- Permits issued in Minnesota are valid throughout Minnesota.
- The initial permit will be valid for five years. See Renewal of your Permit to Carry for information on renewing your permit.
For more information on how to obtain a permit to carry a pistol in the state of Minnesota visit the Department of Public Safety.
Permit to Purchase during COVID-19
Permits to purchase will be accepted via U.S. mail. See the Permit to Purchase During COVID-19 link and follow the instructions.
*Please note, failure to complete the application form and include your signature in all necessary locations will result in a delay in the processing of your application. The statutory processing time will not start until the mailed application is received by the Washington County Sheriff’s Office.*
The application form can also by requested by sending an email to: firstname.lastname@example.org
Include a color photocopy of your driver’s license or government issues identification (both front and back)
The Washington County Sheriff’s Office will process applications for permits to purchase a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon from residents of Washington County who live in one of the following cities or townships:
|Hugo||Lake Elmo||Lake St. Croix Beach||Lakeland||Lakeland Shores|
|Landfall||Mahtomedi||May Township||Marine on St. Croix||Newport|
|Pine Springs||Scandia||St. Mary’s Point||Stillwater Township||West Lakeland Township|
*Please Note: Per Minnesota State Statute applicants must apply in person*
Applicants who live in a city that is served by a full-time police department must contact that police department to apply for a permit to purchase a handgun.
Permit to Purchase must be submitted in person by the applicant with identification.
Applicants must be 21 years of age to purchase a hand gun and 18 years of age to purchase a military style assault rifle.
The Sheriff shall either issue a Permit to Purchase or deny the application within seven days of receipt.
The Sheriff shall provide an applicant with written notification of a denial, and the specific reason for the denial.
There is no application fee to apply for a Permit to Purchase.
The permit to purchase is valid statewide and shall expire after one year. You may renew your permit in the same manner in which you obtained your original permit.
For complete information regarding Minnesota State Law governing the transfer of a pistol or military style assault weapon,view the Minnesota Statutes.
The Permit to Carry application fee for new applicants in Washington County is $75.
The renewal fee for a Permit to Carry is $55 if applied for within 90 days of the Permit to Carry's expiration date.
The renewal fee for a Permit to Carry if applied for within 30 days past the permit's expiration date is $65.
The renewal fee for a Permit to Carry if applied for beyond 31 days or more past the expiration date is $75.
Minnesota State Statute requires that applicants must provide proof of firearms training by a certified instructor to include: fundamentals of pistol use, actual shooting qualification exercise, and instruction in the fundamental legal aspects of pistol possession, carry, and use including self-defense and the restrictions on use of deadly force.
Since Washington County is not intending to duplicate the state's certification effort, the Sheriff's Office is reviewing training certifications individually to ensure that they meet the state requirements as published in the state statute. Starting October 1, 2005, training certifications will be accepted only from instructors approved by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.
The Sheriff's Office is not able to recommend any particular instructor or course, and thus, does not have a list of courses and fees. If you are looking for training, you should contact the instructors and ask to ensure that they are certified and provide training in all of the topics required by the statute. Your local gun shop, range, or firearms dealer may have a list of classes that are being offered to meet the requirements of the new law.
Permit to Carry holders must notify the issuing Sheriff's Office within 30 days after a change of permanent address or name.
Failure to provide notification as required is a petty misdemeanor.
To notify Washington County Sheriff's Office of a name or address change you may do so in person at the following address:
Washington County Sheriff's Office
Law Enforcement Center
15015 62nd St N
Stillwater, MN 55082
Or call us at 651-430-7600
There is no Minnesota State Statute requirement to obtain a new card for a change of address or name change. You are only required to report the change.
However if you would like a card with your new address or new name there is a $10 fee.
*Please note-the address on your Permit to Carry and your driver's license or state issued ID, must be the same in order for you to make any purchases from gun shops.
Under Minnesota State Statute 624.714, a Permit to Carry expires five years after the date it was issued.
Renewals will conducted in the same manner, using the same criteria in which the original permit was issued. This includes re-taking the Minnesota Permit to Carry Firearms course and obtaining a certificate of successful completion.
You may apply for your renewal permit no earlier than 90 days prior to the expiration date on your current permit.
For the renewal fee, please see our fee schedule.
For more additional information, please visit the State of Minnesota's Permit to Carry website.
If you have lost your Permit to Carry you must notify the Sheriff's Office who issued you the permit.
After notifying the issuing Sheriff's Office of the loss, a Permit to Carry holder may obtain a replacement Permit to Carry card by paying a $10 replacement fee to the Sheriff's Office.
The request for a replacement card must be made on a Permit to Carry application (page 1) and in addition must include a notarized statement that the permit card has been lost or destroyed.
If you have guns in the home and you have children educate them about gun safety. Rather than just telling them to stay away from the gun cabinet, the Sheriff recommends having a more detailed discussion, and answering children's questions. Establish rules for your children to stay away from the guns, and let them know that these rules also apply to their friends.
When shooting, choose targets that are away from people and from anything else that can be dangerous or harmful. Also be fully aware of what is on the other side of the target.
Wear ear and eye protection when shooting your firearm. The noise is loud enough to cause hearing impairment. Debris is sometimes discharged from the gun, and this can cause injury to the eyes.
Drugs / Alcohol
Do not use a firearm while you are under the influence of alcohol or any type of drugs, even those prescribed by a doctor. The slightest bit of impairment can cause injury or death.
Firearms should be stored unloaded and in a locked safe place at all times when not in use
If for any reason you question your eligibility to possess a firearm you may refer to the Minnesota State Statute describing who is prohibited from possessing a firearm in the State of Minnesota. Please be advised that there are also federal laws which may prohibit certain individuals from possessing a firearm.