Historic Courthouse Advisory Committee


The Historic Courthouse Advisory Committee reviews current operation and long-range plans of the Historic Courthouse building use and restoration within the context of the mission statement adopted by the Washington County Board of Commissioners for the Historic Courthouse.


The committee's primary responsibility is to make policy recommendations to the County Board that best carry out the adopted mission statement.


There are 14 members of the Historic Courthouse Advisory Committee. Members are appointed by the County Board. The committee is composed of: 

  • Two representatives from each commissioner district.
  • One official representative from the Washington County Historical Society.
  • One commissioner (ex officio).
  • One district court judge.
  • The Historic Courthouse coordinator (ex officio).

Member terms

Members are appointed for three-year terms. Members are eligible for a total of four two-year terms, or a total of eight years.

Meeting requirements

This advisory committee meets at least quarterly. Additional meetings will be scheduled if deemed necessary by the committee. Meetings are at the Historic Courthouse in Stillwater.


Members of the Historic Courthouse Advisory Committee are eligible to receive meeting per diem and mileage reimbursement at the rate established by the County Board.

Operating procedures

This advisory council operates in accordance with the operating procedures established by the county.