How Do I?
Click to Home

Go To Search
County Board

2015 Commissioner Districts
Map of Washington County's 5 Commissioner districts

Board meetings are most Tuesdays at 9 a.m. The public is welcome to attend. See county calendar to confirm dates.

Board of Commissioners
Washington County is governed by its Board of Commissioners. Five county commissioners - one from each district - are elected to serve for staggered four-year terms. 

2015 County Board
County commissioners are Karla Bigham, District 4, Ted Bearth, District 2, Gary Kriesel, District 3, Fran Miron, District 1, and Lisa Weik, District 5.

The current county commissioners are:
Commissioner Phone Email
District 1 - Fran Miron 651-430-6211 Email Fran Miron
District 2 - Ted Bearth 651-738-2425 Email Ted Bearth
District 3 - Gary Kriesel 651-430-6213 Email Gary Kriesel
District 4 - Karla Bigham 651-430-6214 Email Karla Bigham
District 5 - Lisa Weik 651-430-6215 Email Lisa Weik

The board elects a chair and vice chair at its first meeting of each calendar year. The chair is the presiding officer during the board meetings, and the vice chair presides in the chair's absence. Commissioner Gary Kriesel will serve as the board chair during 2015, and Commissioner Ted Bearth will serve as vice chair.

The board develops policy, makes decisions, and makes and amends laws for the county. It also establishes the county's budget and tax levy, sets policy for delivery of services, and approves and revises ordinances.

District Boundaries
District boundaries are redefined after every federal census to meet the requirements of Minnesota statute. Under state law, any district that experiences a 5 percent or greater change in its population requires a new election, even if the full four-year term of its commissioner has not been completed. To find which areas of the county are in each district, see map.